Daisy Award Winner

Kelly Straight, Clinical Nurse III, Unit B1

Kelly was recognized by her colleagues as an exemplary skilled, compassionate, and dedicated professional nurse and was honored with the Daisy Award in August. Read her full story in the Monthly Nursing Recognition Showcase outside of the ED Hallway through January, and “like” this post for a chance to win a prize!

The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the Barnes family in memory of their son, J. Patrick Barnes who died from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. It is dedicated to funding research to help fight diseases of the immune system and supporting ITP patients and their families. Having been touched by the remarkable care, Clinical skills, and compassion demonstrated by nurses during Patrick’s illness, the Barnes family made it their mission to recognize exceptional nurses around the country.

What is the Daisy award?

  • This international program includes more than 1,000 hospitals across the globe.
  • It is given quarterly to an outstanding nurse from any of the different nursing regions: Med/Surg, ICU/IICU, Procedural Areas, and Outpatients.
  • The award is presented in the award recipient’s unit.
  • All recipients throughout the year will be recognized during Nurse Week.

Recipient will receive:

  • A framed certificate
  • DAISY Award signature lapel pin
  • A hand-carved stone sculpture entitled “A Healer’s Touch”
  • Cinnabon’s cinnamon rolls – a favorite of Patrick’s during his illness – with the sentiment that the heavenly aroma will remind them how special they are and how important their work is.
  • And a copy of the nomination letter.

The department of the recipient will receive Cinnabon’s cinnamon rolls, which were Patrick’s favorite during his illness.

How to nominate an extraordinary nurse:

  • Patients, visitors, employees, or physicians may nominate a deserving nurse.
  • Fill out the online nomination form (available only to SHC employees).

Criteria/attributes for nominations should include SHC Values:

  • Caring H.E.A.R.T.
  • Care and Compassion, Honesty, Excellence in Education or Research, Advocacy, Respect, and Teamwork.

Nomination is all year long. Selection process takes place quarterly during the Nursing Professional Growth and Development council meeting. Recipient will be notified by the department’s manager.

What is the selection process for the award?

  • Only nominations with patient a story will go through the final selection.
  • The selection process is blind. Each final nomination letter is coded for anonymity to prevent bias from the selection committee members.
  • Members of the Magnet & Professional Growth Council will read all the final nomination letters and grade them based on the presence of the SHC Nursing Values and quality of the story.
  • A scoring grid is used to grade the nomination letters.
  • Nominees with the highest score are selected as award recipients.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s